Thank a School Board Member

    January is School Board Recognition Month and Point Isabel I.S.D. is joining other districts across the state to thank these community volunteers for their commitment and contributions to our public schools.

    School board members serve countless hours working to make public education the best it can be for every child. In a climate of change and challenge, they develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues that affect the entire community and the lives of individual students.

    Preparing today’s students to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow is a tremendous task. As elected officials, school board members are the voice of their communities, serving first in the best interest of our schoolchildren.

    We proudly salute these education advocates as they provide vision and leadership for student achievement, academic programs, district funding, and school facilities. Their service ensures that decisions about local public schools are made by those most familiar with the needs of our community’s children and families. These dedicated individuals deserve recognition and thanks for their unfailing commitment to the continuing success of our students now and in the future.

    The men and women serving Point Isabel Independent School District are: 

    Mrs. Bertha Zamora, Board President

    Mrs. Diane O’Leary, Board Vice President

    Mrs. Jennifer Pinkerton, Board Secretary

    Mr. Jimmy L. Vela, Board Assistant Secretary

    Mr. Joseph M. Furcron, Board Member

    Mrs. Cecilia Castillo, Board Member

    Mrs. Alicia Baldovinos, Board Member

    Great leadership always begins with a willing heart, a positive attitude, and a desire to make a difference. Please join us as we applaud these local leaders for helping our kids soar to success.